Poets logo

Star of David (Part 1)

I tried telling you.

By CatPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

My star of

David.

How I tried to

follow you.

A testament full of lonely pages

still hard to

turn to.

I tried

telling you…

-

There was a

carpenter.

Invading Mother Mary’s life.

Was beating much more than a hammer.

and she was doomed to be his wife.

-

The time had finally come,

where she believed she could

shoot for the

stars.

But,

as fast as she tried to run

it wasn’t getting her very far.

-

My star of

David.

How I tried

to follow

you.

A testament full of lonely pages

still hard to

turn to.

I tried

telling you…

-

She knocked

door to

door.

Each house that she went to kept

shutting her out.

I was looking at you from my window

when I noticed her pacing about.

-

She explained her situation.

A baby boy with bright eyes on her lap.

While he is strong, we know this for sure:

on the street is not a safe place to nap.

-

My star of

David.

How I tried to

follow you.

A testament full of lonely pages

still hard to

turn to.

I tried

telling you…

-

My star of

David.

“What did you want me to do?”

Run away from

everything...

Just so I could

be with you?

-

I tried

to follow you.

I tried

telling you.

My God,

a testament full of lonely pages

still hard to for me to

turn to.

-

This is what

I was

trying

to tell you…

-

Lord knows

how much

I missed you,

and how I wished

for your burn

every night.

Inside

I was dying

and I needed

your spirit.

A midnight soul

to let me know

I was right.

-

But,

I was left cold

waiting.

“Paranoia.”

“Anxiety.”

Meanwhile,

tiny little squares

soaked up all of your flashing

light.

-

“Was it my flaws

or my hurting

that pushed you

away?”

I was led to believe

that I was not

worth the

fight.

-

David,

While my heart is pure,

deep down it is

made out of

fire.

Even through the dark moments

when my heart could

take no more…

You were the only

true thing

I desired.

-

You were the star

I had wished

to admire.

But I needed you

to shine for me

a bit brighter.

-

David.

No matter what I did,

it was never enough.

So my love for you…

It was left to

expire.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cat

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.