Poets logo

Please Don't Take This Life From Me!

A handmade prayer.

By CatPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

God,

I pray that you don't

take this life from me.

Please don’t take me from my youth.

Please don’t rob me

of my dreams.

I want this life

so badly,

and I’ll do all I can to fight.

For the visions I have written on paper.

For the moments

my dreams

come to life.

-

I’ve worked so hard for all my riches.

Please God,

don’t you take me from my dreams!

I try my best to stay on the right path,

but my demons,

they sometimes

slip out of the backseat.

-

They take my hands off of

the wheel,

and place their claws

all over me.

They know

that there are

some moments in which,

this is exactly

what I need.

-

I'm sorry for the times I stumble.

I’m sorry for the times I fall.

I’m sorry for the times I act as if

I don’t want this life at all.

-

But my demons,

they eased the pain when you weren’t

answering my calls!

“Can you listen to me now

as I repent for my wrong deeds?”

God,

I pray that you don’t ask for us

to see a light and meet!

I don’t want to hear you say

that there is

no place in heaven

for me!

I don’t want to face the music,

that Hell

is a much better fit for me.

-

God,

I’m begging you,

please!

Don’t you

take this life from me!

Because I know how this will end,

and I’m not

ready for my

defeat…

-

Please don’t rob me of my youth

and please don't

take me from my dreams!

They’ll be the only thing I have left

when my demons

finally

lay me down

to sleep.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cat

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.