Poets logo

Standing Up

Finding hope

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Standing Up
Photo by Arisa Chattasa on Unsplash

I spent so many years crawling

But I was someone else back then

Now I'm standing up for myself

And you won't bring me to my knees again

My kindness is not a weakness

I'm not a doormat for you to wipe your feet on

And as much as you'll hate to acknowledge it

The timid girl you used as a punching bag is dead and gone

You can try to shut me up

You can punish me for doing what I think it right

But my voice will not be silenced

I will not hide or let you dim my light

You've spent so much time and effort trying to break me down

That my continued resistance comes as an irritant and a surprise

And you can keep trying to knock me down

But like Maya Angelou said, like dust, I'll rise

I can't just point fingers and only blame others

The ghosts in my own mind also hold me back

And the scars on my heart, time to let it all go and heal

Stop looking for an easy way out when I feel trapped

I've been so busy regretting decisions I made then

Based on everything I know now

Beating myself up for all my mistakes

As if my contrition will change my past somehow

I'm a survivor, not a victim

I was born with a purpose, I am not a mistake

I will not be overwhelmed by pain or despair

I will not be consumed by bitterness, anger, or hate

I readily give loving and kind words to others

I need to speak to myself in that same way

I'm fearfully and wonderfully made, I'm worthy, and I'm enough

No matter what you or the voices in my own mind say

inspirational
1

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.