Poets logo

Insecure

A new twist on a familiar feeling

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Insecure
Photo by i yunmai on Unsplash

I've had low self-esteem as long as I can remember

Had issues with my appearance and my weight

Felt self-conscious and inferior in many ways

But was never seen as less than beautiful and sexy by anyone I date

I'm not sure I've ever felt less attractive and desirable

Been more insecure with my own body and even questioned if I'm inadequate sexually

Even when I'm right in front of you, it seems like you'd rather be looking at someone else

Acting like any other man wouldn't be happy to be in your place, like you're embarrassed of me

I was always the funny one, smart and creative if nothing else

Sometimes I even start to wonder about that with you, acting like half the time I say something that I get on your nerves

Am I actually that unlovable? More a liability than an asset? More a nuisance than a comfort?

I thought I was settling before and had too low of standards, but now I'm questioning what I deserve

I can't say you *made* me feel this way because I'm responsible for how I react, for not speaking up and letting it go on so long

When sometimes you act like you're above me, like all I have wouldn't even come close to what you want and what you need

Like I said, I've always had issues with feeling insecure and unattractive

This is just the first time I've ever felt like a guy actually agreed...

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.