Poets logo

Standing Empire

A Poem

By Vernon T. ScottPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image comes from Slaytor's Playhouse

My inner being is a hunter...

It captures your glance

It captures your soul

It captures your smile

My inner being is a gatherer...

It keeps your secrets

It keeps your love

It keeps your dreams

My inner being is a warrior...

It fights for your needs

It fights for your happiness

It fights for your safety

My inner being is a peasant...

It is the building block that makes up a nation.

It is the foundation of the ideal lover

It is the beauty that is most coveted

My inner being is a...

I want to say emperor, but I thought that was you

But there can only be one emperor

Sorry, but you do not fit the position

My inner being conquers over my insecurities

It strengthens my self worth

It builds my character

If my inner being does all of this, what is the purpose of having you?

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.