Poets logo

stage beast

a poem

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
5
Photo by Justin Ziadeh on Unsplash

this city is too small

to grasp the enormity of what they have done

mental health first aiders

they are ruining my health

and this mental degradation

on the verge of sanity and maiming

it gives me a regurgitate reaction

as if I were their audience

watching them on stage

during the mythological carnage

just in case

I left the light on in the hall

on the way to my higher self

when the subconscious mind needs to be fed

same as the conscious rage from hell

it deprives me of the air

where I usually stand

in the most unfavourable light

distorting my shapes

and equalling me with a beast

that I could never be

without their hard work behind the scenes

---

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

inspirationalvintagesurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetry
5

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.