Poets logo

Stack the Deck

An ode to the deck of cards at the beach house.

By Suze KayPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
31
Stack the Deck
Photo by Aditya Chinchure on Unsplash

Rainy days, drunken nights, sleight of hand, ripple and snap.

I promise not to look too hard at the chili oil smudges memorized

over diamond backs, a folded edge on the four of spades,

your careless splay as you lean to shift my drink from the table's edge.

//

House rules and home brews, penny hands and the long list of

unpaid debts that stretches like a CVS receipt over our history.

May we play forever, may we never tire of the game,

may we never be caught evening the odds.

//

The cards are tacky, smell of mildew. Everything here does, if it waits

long enough on a shelf, plucked up and shuffled

only once in a blue moon. Oh, reliever of boredom, starter

of fights, be lucky for me tonight.

social commentarylist
31

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Daniel J. Heck4 months ago

    “Chili oil smudges,” “like a CVS receipt”, such vivid specifics! Being a card player, I related to the musty atmosphere you created and the prayer for luck; it made me want to know more about the poem’s subject! Well written.

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    This was fantastic! I almost shot water through my nose laughing about the CVS receipt :) Congrats on an overdue top story!

  • Catherine Dorian4 months ago

    Congratulations on this Top Story! This was one of the most beautiful poems about home that I have ever read.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • D.K. Shepard4 months ago

    So good! Loved the particular of the memorized stains!

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    I love this - "reliever of boredom, starter of fights." This is such a beautiful poem, full of texture. Congratulations on Top Story!!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is great! Congrats on the TS.

  • Caroline Jane4 months ago

    Great stuff. The card game Uno is one of our favourites. Our pack is battered beyond belief.

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Well done!🥰

  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    Dear Ms. Suzie Kay - Although I've followed you, forever, including your exchanges with our Naomi Gold (I've missed her so much) I haven't intruded since I'm so far out of the popular Gen's interests. I don't do contests/rewards but always read others' presentations. But after reading your sentiments on our Village StepMoms' "Mugly" I've been scrolling through your marvelous presentations and *I've subscribed with pleasure. btw; just "Shuffled" out a 'Poker' story too; we all have them. Jay, Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    “The cards are tacky, smell of mildew. Everything here does, if it waits long enough on a shelf, plucked up and shuffled only once in a blue moon. Oh, reliever of boredom“ I relate to these lines so much!

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Well, that was pretty clever. I loved the flow and the overall subject matter. "I promise not to look too hard at the chili oil smudges memorized over diamond backs, a folded edge on the four of spades," Great details!!!

  • Mae Flowers9 months ago

    This is so incredibly well-written. Big fan of the CVS receipt line. Amazing use of language

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    One word: Superb!

  • Great job really enjoyed this poem it brought back memories of my aunts and uncles penny poker games

  • I love it. Your writing feels so homey to me. I can relate.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Yes!l this brings back my memories of games on family vacations ❤️

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Every word is doing his fair share of lifting here and then some 😁 You paint a gloriously real, tactile, smellable picture.

  • Ava Mack9 months ago

    Wow, Suze, I absolutely love this. The smudges, the tackiness, blue moons, be lucky for me tonight, the mildew... I felt like I was right there at the table with you!

  • Laura Lann9 months ago

    This awoke so many of my childhood memories. :) What a delightful read

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    I get so excited when I see you've released another poem. The smudges and folded edges are so accurate but I've never promised not to look too had at them haha. That last sentence was such a good finish to another high quality poem

  • Oh this was such a wonderful ode! I loved it!

  • Emma Kate Coleman10 months ago

    The CVS reference has me rolling!! 😂 Love where this takes me, Suze. Well done!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.