Poets logo

Spring is Sprung

A tale of hope

By Luke FosterPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
8
Spring is Sprung
Photo by Yoksel 🌿 Zok on Unsplash

At first, there was darkness. The roundness of my form compressed tight. I can feel the open space above me, but for now, I sit and wait.

It's cold up there, I can feel it. But in here I am warm, and safe. Soon it will be time for me to move, to do what I was meant to do. But not yet, so for now, I sit and I wait.

I'm nourished by the warmth of the sun and I drink deeply from the water that surrounds me. It sustains me and keeps me strong, and still I sit and I wait.

I hear the falling of the rain as it patters, trickles, sheets and thunders. The ground becomes mud, with puddles everywhere, and I sit and I wait.

I feel my time approaching. I feel myself growing, as my limbs extend. I get used to the new me, getting comfortable in my own body. It's almost time, but for now I sit and I wait.

Above the days are longer, the air is warmer. It is time. I reach for the surface, and I break through. I sit and I wait no longer.

As far as the eye can see, a field of yellow, my brothers and sisters and I stand proudly, as our arrival heralds the start of a new spring. No matter how deep and cold the winter, there will always be a new spring.

nature poetry
8

About the Creator

Luke Foster

Father. New husband. Wannabe writer.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    "No matter how deep and cold the winter, there will always be a new spring". We all need words of hope in trying times like we are living through right now. These words resound with.hope.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is great. Well done.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Awesome!!!💖💕

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.