Poets logo

Spoken Word Poetry

This abstract is of one of my open mic session about spoken word poetry and poems

By Echo EcePublished about a month ago 3 min read
Like
Spoken Word Poetry
Photo by Bogomil Mihaylov on Unsplash

Now as I stand here, I don't know "what's next",

for I know nothing but to be simply honest.

So I thought about something,

that people will never forget.

What's good about literature,

is that it doesn't need any form,

it just needs to be delivered brilliantly,

without any barriers and norms.

Long long before,

these poems were formed,

there were spoken word poetry,

that Shakespeare had formed.

It is a form, that not just exists on page,

but something that needs a push,

to stand and perform on stage.

Now that I'll tell you, you might not believe it.

I am a good writer but not someone who can speak.

Even today as I came before you here,

I feel my legs tremble and shake,

I come with teaspoon of courage,

mixed along with some of my fears.

Whenever I fear I hear my mom's voice,

"Believe me baby, when the words are not coming out,

drink glass of water or something, so that people do not find out,

then blend that fear into something, that would hold you straight, upright and strong".

So, I now stand here, not promising to go smooth,

but to take a few moments, just to cheer up your mood.

Speaking is all about your confidence,

of how you pretend to have a cup full even when there is none left.

I only know some things to be true,

but there are plenty of things I have trouble understanding.

For which I use poems.

Some of these help me get clear with what I would like to do next,

or helping me realize where I made a mistake.

From a person I have lately gotten to know,

poems need not be systematic but can end on an abrupt note,

and they can be clumsy and beautiful walking on the same road.

Poems help me drive things out of my mind,

helping me create a new world, where things would go as I like.

People do not know,

that poem is their life,

It is what they do,

and what makes them strive.

Poetry is not an art,

but words knitted into lines,

Poems are mere feelings,

That gets to be described.

Poem is not difficult to make,

If you put in your heart and mind.

You just need to write what you love,

Or simply love what you write.

Encouragement comes when one says to self

"I can" and "I will" without any procrastination or dismay.

When you write something,

never ever stop or pause,

For every moment has something to recite,

beyond your expectations and thoughts.

Every person must write I say,

for every being is unique,

and with every word they keep in mind,

goes an experience missing.

And let me tell you,

poems are for everyone,

From the youth to the elderly,

and that's what makes it interesting.

Before I conclude I'd like to say

"When you have a treasure within,

make it available to the folks,

else you will die with it only,

to be discovered by someone,

who'd claim it to be their own."

performance poetryFor Funfact or fictionart
Like

About the Creator

Echo Ece

Writing to me is my fuel. I enjoy writing about my passions, what interests me, what interests other people. I hope with each passing day, I gain more friends than followers more connectivity and more of support from y'all

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.