Poets logo

Splash

A Coming of Age Poem

By Vikki HeadPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like

The smell of chlorine hit me in waves..

I slipped out of the pool, feeling invisible and yet his eyes were watching me, had always been looking in my direction.

Drying off at midnight, the air warm and muggy, with the sound of the cicadas and the soft wind ruffling the trees of the surrounding forest.

It was the end of summer and the beginning of something new. Something different.

I felt a bounce on the trampoline and a cold body flopped down next to me.

The smell of chlorine, hit me in waves..

Bouncing and then I jumped back in the pool. Laughing with friends, music unheard playing in the background. And suddenly I feel hands around my waist and a blush spread on my face.

The smell of chlorine, hit me in waves...

Lips I had never felt, and more, so much more..

The smell of chlorine, hit me in waves..

Hit me in waves.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Vikki Head

There is life-giving and renewing energy in the written word. I find power and solace behind the pen and keyboard and an outlet for my different passions. I enjoy writing fantasy and sci-fi and poetry will always be my third child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis12 months ago

    I really like this. The repetition is a great grounding technique for the core emotions of the speaker. And the overall mood of the poem is haunting, surreal, and beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.