Poets logo

Spirited

Love thy Neighbor

By Lamar WigginsPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
12
Spirited
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Giggling laughter begins the day

as restless children gather

for a simple game of hopscotch

I rejoice in my own memories

of that innocent stage of life where

the only things that mattered were

PB&J and Legos

*

I swiftly become motivated with

the ambition necessary for venture

I hope to do something worthy today

*

The autumn rays nourish my skin

as I walk to the mailbox to keep

my life on track

The scent of elderberries straddles

the olfactory nerves, elevating my

mood even higher

*

I love this neighborhood

*

To the right of me is old lady Stephens,

picking away at those pesky weeds

in her rose garden

To the left of me is puppy love, Roscoe

Trying yet again to catch that bright yellow

butterfly that visits him every morning

To the front of me is Lake Arrowhead,

who's seen more sunsets than we've seen

generations come and go

*

Choosing to do nothing today

is an exercise of freewill

But choosing to do something instead,

is inevitable

My mind wanders half the day,

giving me proud moments

to dance with

*

Gratifying Images

beyond every window

of my home,

leaves me content with satisfaction

The look and feel of it all

has granted me permission

to smile

*

I love this neighborhood...

By Didi Miam on Unsplash

inspirational
12

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron11 months ago

    I found myself truly transported by this poem! I hate that I missed it during the challenge. It really gets you down deep and reminds us that there are such comforts all around us everyday that we sometimes just don't think about! This is one of my favorites! I don't think you and I had become acquainted when the comfort challenge was out, so I'm sharing my entry with you below. Have an awesome day, my friend! https://vocal.media/poets/something-about-the-rain

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    That one seems very nostalgic, or at least that's its impact on me. Nice one Lamar!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    This poem really does feel like a hug :)

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is a beautiful and comforting poem that activated all my senses and emotions. There is something so blissful about feeling safe and peaceful at home, and you definitely captured this!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    This did feel like a warm hug! So wonderful to appreciate the world you see every day :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Very nicely done.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Very nice! I love it...

  • 😊❤️💯

  • This comment has been deleted

  • sleepy drafts2 years ago

    Oh, I just adore this. There is so much to consider in this poem; each stanza is rich with sentiment and meaning. I love how personal this poem feels, and yet also how relatable it is. There is so much beauty to witness in your own neighborhood, and this is a gorgeous reminder of that.❤️

  • John Eva2 years ago

    The sense you wrote about is an absolute vibe. This was great!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.