Poets logo

Something About the Rain

It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder. - Rumi

By Veronica ColdironPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
9
Easy listening while you read. "In the rain" Romantic sleep music - Were you a dream

There’s nothing like the rain

To give me a coffee high

While sitting in my favorite chair

Watching dreams go by.

Photo by Leonardo Pavao From Pexels

There’s something about the rain

Falling from up high

That weighs upon my weary heart

And brings about a sigh.

In the middle of the storm

When the world seems dark and gray

There’s something about the rain

That’s sending me away

To times so long forgotten

To a life I half recall

While the fury of the wind

Batters down my memory’s wall.

When I’ve had no time to think on things

But business and my pain,

The Lord shines down upon me,

And sends a little rain.

There’s just something about the rain

That beckons to my heart

To take a moment and reflect

To make a brand-new start.

Wallpaper from Pinterest

When the earth has reached its season

And budding life begins to wane

Baptismal skies send life anew

Because there's something about the rain.

inspirationalnature poetrysad poetry
9

About the Creator

Veronica Coldiron

I'm a mild-mannered project accountant by day, a free-spirited writer, artist, singer/songwriter the rest of the time. Let's subscribe to each other! I'm excited to be in a community of writers and I'm looking forward to making friends!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Wow! Thank you for sharing this! it was on point with the flow and imagery. The very first stanza that ended with 'watching dreams go by' struck a nerve with me. Watching the rain is a time to reflect and you've successively interpreted that reflection. Really well done!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Super superb and loved ot!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    A very beautiful poem. The flow and rhyming scheme don't feel forced at all. Well done!

  • Wow, the combination of your words, the music and the pictures, gave me such a magnificent experience. Breathtakingly beautiful!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Wow, this was really beautiful!!

  • John Eva2 years ago

    I love the sound - I love the pictures, and the words wrap it all up together in harmony. Fantastic

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    What a gorgeous poem ❤️🥰The rain song video was very cozy. Like I enter into a cozy world. I just want to stay and relax . Thanks for the invite in your comfort poem

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    I felt this so much!! Not only was your poetry beautiful, but the music and the pictures were a lovely added gift. I loved this!

  • Ashley Shiflett2 years ago

    This is beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.