Poets logo

Space.

Reflecting on our current situation, and how our confines dictate our experiences.

By Lucy PerrinPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Space

To define space

A continuous area or expanse which is free, available, or unoccupied. (Google, 2020)

Right now, are biggest limitation faced by our race, is space.

We are a species of social butterflies, unable to fly.

We are confined.

Confined

Adjective

(of a space) restricted in area or volume; cramped.

(also, Google, 2020)

We are sociable creatures, sociably distanced.

And rather than defining space,

We are confined to our spaces.

And our spaces define us.

Our experience of our current space and restrictions,

Is defining in how we deal with our situation,

And defining in our mental condition.

See people in a small space,

Packed in on top of each other.

Just clambering to find a moments peace,

To breathe away from one another.

Whereas a man with lots of space,

Can go days, weeks, months,

Without seeing another face.

Is he happy?

See I’d rather be packed in like sardines,

In a place filled with love.

Than be in the open air,

And love be an emotion the world feels devoid of.

Today on my hour of exercise,

My hour of freedom,

Just an hour to humanise.

I stood and looked at the sea,

And it mocked me.

For all the space before me,

That I could see.

None could be as great,

As if you were here next to me.

For we are not only defined by the space,

Within which we are confined.

But, also by the space,

That spans out between us.

Which for now may as well be to the moon.

So, I stand at the sea,

All of nature’s beauty before me.

Just hoping I get to meet you soon.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lucy Perrin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.