Poets logo

Space

You hung the moon for me.

By Abby GustafsonPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2
Space
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

I watch planets circle the sky

And wonder

If you

Saw them pass by

In your atmosphere

Somewhere in a place I know

Isn't right here.

Feel like an astronaut

But I don't need

space

You hung the moon for me

And gravity's

Taken you away.

I'll go to sleep

When the sun starts to rise

So I can dream of

The light in your eyes

Just to fill the dark

Galaxies that covered

2 years of my mind.

Feel like an astronaut

But I don’t need

space

You hung the moon for me

And gravity’s taken you away /

To a cosmos I don’t know

Out past the stars

I tried to follow

But now you’re too far

So I sing Drops of Jupiter

Alone in my car

And watch planets spin around

This world that was ours.

I hope you hear this

Light years away

And dream of me out there

When skies start to rain

In showers of comets

That promise you

I’m okay.

Feel like an astronaut

But I never asked for space

You hung the moon for me

But gravity’s never gonna change.

love poemsSong LyricsBallad
2

About the Creator

Abby Gustafson

"Give them a compelling reason to read more from you," Vocal said.

"'Compelling' is subjective," I said.

Read away as you wish - Cheers!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)4 months ago

    I love this.

  • Oooo, I really love the imageries you used, so vivid and evocative. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.