Poets logo

Someday again the flowers will bloom

As winter offers a cold, unending moon.

By Abby GustafsonPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
4
Someday again the flowers will bloom
Photo by Majid Rangraz on Unsplash

As winter offers a cold, unending moon,

Every spring still comes as a surprise;

I know someday again the flowers will bloom.

If counting stars from the warmth of this dark room,

Becomes just a blur of days and nights

As winter offers a cold, unending moon.

I will cling tightly to the days that come soon

To wake and see an early sunrise,

I know someday again the flowers will bloom.

My breath I see drift off into the dark blue,

Makes one believe warmth would be a crime,

As winter offers a cold, unending moon.

The birds will change in song to a happy tune

The world will turn green from snowy white,

I know someday again the flowers will bloom.

May this season not be filled with only doom,

Or trudging through a barren, dark fight.

As winter offers a cold, unending moon,

I know someday again the flowers will bloom.

Villanelle
4

About the Creator

Abby Gustafson

"Give them a compelling reason to read more from you," Vocal said.

"'Compelling' is subjective," I said.

Read away as you wish - Cheers!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    This is a beautiful poem! I loved the photo too, there is a dahlia farm we drive to each summer to do U-pick!

  • This was very poignant yet so hopeful. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.