Poets logo

Southpaw

Does Alright

By Colleen WaltersPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 2 min read
“ Murphee’s Law”

Why am I left- handed? I started reading the Bible on February 13, 2022 and finished it a year later. And the right hand is the hand spoken of in the Bible. The Bailiff says” raise your right hand” in courtrooms, people extend their right hand to me for a handshake, and I’m over here ,so left-handed.

I’m not just left-handed. I’m very left-handed. When I broke my left wrist and wore a cast for 6 weeks, I became right handed. When I cut my left palm and needed 14 stitches, I became right-handed. Or shall I say I became illegible, and pretty much useless. It’s hard to get dressed with one arm so you get creative with dressing, and articles of clothing are assessed for their necessity.

Even weeks of recovering from injuries didn’t make me right-handed. I think my brain giggled a little when I clumsily picked up a pen in my right hand. The chicken scratch I created with the pen was amusing, but not very helpful if it actually needed to be deciphered.

I had a young teacher in elementary school that would knock my knuckles with a yardstick for writing with my left hand, and then she graduated to a very pointy ring she wore. There were days when I fought back tears from the pain, and wished I could punch her with my left fist. I went home with raw knuckles and lumps hidden by my hair, but I showed her… I’m still left-handed!

So then fast forward to two years ago and I read in the Bible how the sheep and goats are separated, goats to the left and sheep to the right, and I’m like “ I’m over here with the goats” Ah, but then I found a verse I’d missed before, Judges 20:16 “Among all these were 700 chosen men who were all left-handed, every one could sling a stone at a hair and not miss.”

Well, well , well.

I grew up having to adapt to using right-hand everything, and learned to play sports right-handed because I was the only one not right-handed. I grew up with people always commenting when I was drawing or writing on me being a “ southpaw”, and I think it made me a bit self-conscious about writing or drawing. I learned not to smudge my work, and it’s always been easier for me to paint horses facing to the right because I don’t smudge my work. Apparently we southpaws are creative too. I am .

I’m a lefty, a southpaw, and people are fascinated to watch me write because only 10% of the world’s population is left-handed. I’ve never been one to go the same way as everyone else, I’m the fish on Chosen, swimming against the current. That’s so me.

So what started this story was that I was wondering why I’m left-handed, and apparently (at least in the Bible) being left-handed was an advantage in battle. No one expected a soldier in battle with a sword on the left.

Now we’re on the spiritual battlefield, and I’m carrying the Sword of the Spirit in my left hand. And we’re winning.

inspirationalFree Verse

About the Creator

Colleen Walters

i’m just a girl in Florida who likes to write things, usually inspired by events and people in my life..Always be you, because you are awesome-

When I grow up, I want to be a kid again.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Omgggg I'm so sorry your teacher did that to you! You should have punched her!

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Colleen, I adored this story! I have two wonderful and smart grandchildren who are left-handed. I have never thought about God creating left handers, but this is beautiful. Your picture of Murphee is great, too. Loved the strength and determination in the horse's face.

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    This is really amazing and well done on your story!

  • Dr. Jason Benskinabout a month ago

    Dear Colleen, I thoroughly enjoyed reading your piece "Southpaw." Your reflections on being left-handed are both insightful and inspiring. Your resilience in the face of adversity, particularly with the unsupportive teacher, highlights your strength. I loved how you connected your experiences to historical and biblical contexts, showing the unique advantages of being left-handed. Your narrative is a beautiful reminder of embracing one's individuality and turning perceived differences into strengths. Thank you for sharing your story. Warm regards, Dr. Jay

  • Rowan Finley about a month ago

    Wow this is such a neat perspective! I’m so sorry for the mean hearted teacher. That’s horrible!

Colleen WaltersWritten by Colleen Walters

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.