Poets logo

Sound the Buffet Bell

A Poem

By Nicholas KingPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Like
Sound the Buffet Bell
Photo by insung yoon on Unsplash

I have a red right hand

a red hook right hand;

a metal question mark

that answers rather than asks.

A clock, gold inlay with silver highlights,

is smashed, that will stop the click-clock,

stop the sound from eating away

at me like a famished crocodile.

The clock is destroyed but the click-clock

tick-tock

continues

and…are those spines sticking out of the water?

My book series The Atalante Chronicles is now live on Amazon for Kindle, Paperback, and Hardcover Print-On-Demand. Your support is greatly appreciated.

Find me on the web: https://linktr.ee/TheKingSquare

humorperformance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nicholas King

I'm a graduate of the University of South Florida's Creative Writing program. Currently, I reside in Florida, where I've spent the majority of life. In my spare time, I write fiction and poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.