Poets logo

Soulmates

A Rebuttal of the Other Half

By Arden Grace Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1

These lies will cut you open.

I will lay between your ribs

somewhere between loving you

and wishing that I never did.

Time for us moves slowly

when we choose this awful path

to make ourselves so small and crawl in

a hole we pretend is our other half.

Every word that I have spoken

is shattered glass upon my lips,

the remains of who I used to be

are now daggers in my hips

Every time I thought of no difference

between where I end and you begin

is another year spent pulling the remnants

of you from beneath my skin.

Cover me in your deception

as I lay here on your sheets

I will pretend my heart isn't hungry

for something other than what it eats

We can be here in this room

but know that when we are old and grey

we will still want for the parts of ourselves

that never got to stay.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Arden Grace

Creative writing major playing pretend and sharing it with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.