Poets logo

Soul for Sale

Priced to sell

By Kathryn KingsleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

"Hey there, Satan. I heard someone say

You were in the market for souls today.

Let's wheel and deal. I've for a bargain for you!

I've got one for sale but its hardly new."

At a young age it was washed away of sin

For the prize of the Holy light I'd hold within.

A ticket to heaven was guaranteed mine

In exchange for my soul's commitment to The Divine.

Years they passed and my shiny soul dimmed.

Each ugly deed allowed another piece to be trimmed.

Recipient or grantor it mattered naught

As it seems in a wicked web I'd been caught.

I'd take the vile abuse or pay it ahead

Erasing the Eden to where I was told this life led.

How could the God to whom I'd promised my soul

Allow such evil to grip my world and take toll?

I questioned His motives each night in silent prayer

Knowing a good Christian would never dare.

But good Christians seem to like throwing stones

At any companion sinner who dutifully atones.

All my wrongdoings displayed for my Sunday school mates

Who felt entitled to their entrance to the Pearly Gates.

Reputations remained unscathed for these folks

Yet mine a laughing stock, the butt of fellowship jokes.

For this my soul is weathered weary and worn;

Its bruised and scarred and slightly torn.

"Humbly, I offer this low clearance price

For a soul that once was really nice.

So, Devil, I know what I offer is at a fair cost

For a post-promised soul that along the way got lost.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kathryn Kingsley

I am an alien; I'm sure of it. I'm an enigma, a perfect mess of controlled chaos. I am beauty wrapped in madness. Keep reading for a wild ride inside my fractured mind.

Please share, subscribe, tip and/or pledge to support my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.