Poets logo

Sorry Isn't Just A Word

It's A Feeling...

By Liz SuprisePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Sorry isn't a word; it's a feeling

When actions don’t meet what you say

Isn’t it words without meaning?

Everything I've known crumbled

Like broken clay beneath my feet

Everything I thought I knew

Covered in your deceit!

No solid foundation

No truth to rely on

No love to be had

No shoulder to cry on

Devoid of emotion,

But cries of regret

The look on your face

I’ll never forget

Your lies upon lies

The fake world you created

The pain that I suffered

My tears filled with hatred

How can you love

But hate how they treat you?

When someone is lying

And it just defeats you?

Sorry, you’re sorry

But you really aren’t sorry-

You live with the pain

Because...

You got caught!

You say you’re sorry

So very very sorry-

Too late for I’m sorry

How about an I love you

For you I will try

I’ll do what I have to

I’ll accept that I broke this

I’ll hug you

I'll hold you

I’ll wipe the tears with a kiss

You’ve given me 15 years, a child, and a home

Even if we separate and end up alone-

I want to hear you say it and feel you mean it

desperately-

These words you should say

Use wiser actions and mean it

Each and every day!

I want to hear you say it

I want to feel you mean it

I want to understand it

I want to believe it

But if you do not show

What your words are lacking

This will be the end

I will have to sadly start packing

I will not say sorry

When I walk out the door

I will not say what I don’t mean

And with that you can be sure

You will want to hear me say it

You will want to feel I mean it

You will want to understand it

You will want to believe it

And if I do not show

What my words are lacking

The foundation was never solid

The bricks were merely cracking

It is a vicious cycle

Of loving who is broken

And for hoping for the words

Meaningless yet spoken

Sorry isn’t just a word

You have to mean it too

Or they will never feel it

And end up leaving you.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.