Poets logo

soon I am turning 24

almost-birthday poem

By Elsie CoenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
soon I am turning 24
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

watching the backsplash, I make loops and daisies

along a pink scalp

in turning 24 my hairs feel thicker, their personhood doomed.

in silver linings and shearling beds I am still sixteen.

orange is the soul food of last summer sunlight, the mourning

delinquent as she waxes

hairless, I rattle and Howl for the age of gentle loneliness

to sweep me into her grandmother dialect

my district of citrus fruits and insects. the air like oil

breathing out like thick cotton weave.

the steel drums delirious with dope, mindless as

they wander through the birthday party.

social commentarysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Elsie Coen

i am a middle school teacher whose words are not always appropriate for the classroom, but I'm sure as hell they've run their course through those kids' minds. salivate over the words and chew them until they're yours and only yours.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.