Poets logo

stolen home

summers spent at the pony camp for girls, idyllic in their fantasy world

By Elsie CoenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

I spent my time there, on the farm

breathing in the young spirits

watering my wilting roots--

three weeks in the middle

of things, in the middle

of the end.

eighty horses, hills,

little girls in PJs and

muck boots

and girls whose childhoods

were rooted in the land,

No,

this isn’t the place where

I got high for the first time.

smoking

at the homestead after circle game,

vespers, and the emergence

of heavy stars

this isn’t the place where

I watched three horses fall dead

in a single summer,

Gruffy’s body lying in the sand under

a blanket until sunrise, Gunner still

screaming out to him

this isn’t the place where I overdosed

on Benadryl then loaded a bus to the

Cheshire Fair—

Southern New Hampshire’s

summer glory – I must ask, can you lock me

in that cabin,

bunk 8, and allow me to stay a while?—

I must ask the girls in muck boots

with hay rash,

braided hair, headlamps

and Starbursts

in their dresser drawer

inspirational

About the Creator

Elsie Coen

i am a middle school teacher whose words are not always appropriate for the classroom, but I'm sure as hell they've run their course through those kids' minds. salivate over the words and chew them until they're yours and only yours.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Elsie CoenWritten by Elsie Coen

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.