Poets logo

Sonnets Squared

bimetered poems in the Petrarchan scheme

By Halston WilliamsPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
4
an eagle feather ( or writer's quill?)

Love poems inspired by the Short & Sweet challenge (though I'm inelligible).

Dedicated to R. Angeli, a master of musical variations, prose poems, and sonnet forms, both old & new.

I.

the note I sent

to sow the seed

to want, to need

I know not how it went

the love I’d lent

my soul to feed

you tore and rent

but I will come if you will lead

for you I’ve bled

the pain of love

your head I’d turn

a word not said

that I’ve need of

for you I’d burn

II.

your head I’d turn

for you I’ve bled

a word not said

for you I’d burn

his wage to earn

when Amor has fled

with wind wing sped

from Jove as erne

the note I sent

to sow the seed

you tore and rent

my soul in deed

I know not how it went

but I will come if you will lead

III.

to sow the seed

the note I sent

I know not how it went

my soul in deed

to want, to need

the love I’d lent

you tore and rent

but I will come if you will lead

for you I’ve bled

for you I’d burn

the pain of love

the word not said

your head I’d turn

that I’ve need of

IV.

the pain of love

for you I’ve bled

a word not said

that I’ve need of

like bolt of Jove

when Amor had fled

with wing wind sped

and dart to die of

the note I sent

to sow the seed

you tore and rent

my soul in deed

I know not how it went

but I will come if you will lead

sad poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Halston Williams

Eternal Student: literature, poetry, history, art, and philosophy. English Teacher. Writer & painter. Traveller & skier (when there's $$$). I'm young enough to be foolish, yet old enough to know better. Lover of dark & beautiful things.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test9 months ago

    Love the rhyming and it flowed so well, great piece :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.