Poets logo

Sonnet 911

by blaire baron

By Blaire BaronPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sonnet 911
Photo by Ricardo Gomez Angel on Unsplash

I marvel how life changed, what, two babies?

We’re loud, inside and out, the neighbors stare.

Years blur with Halloween and recipes

They ask. I force, “I’m well” and gasp for air.

I only copy what I learned from mine:

My resting face—a frozen smile painted.

Chin up, look good, clean house, yes all is fine.

I’m grateful, happy, calm. So when I fainted...

Moms studied me with threaded eyebrows raised

They hit “DAD” on my phone, but no one there.

I have to find the strength, I rise! Unphased!

If God would only answer one damned prayer.

I gaze at first grade art and finally see

Orange scrawl of crayon, a house on fire. It’s me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Blaire Baron

Llifelong actor, playwright, theatre director; Blaire is Artistic Director of Shakespeare Youth Festival in Los Angeles and launches bi-lingual writing and theatrre programs in South L.A., Africa and Mexico, all with and for young people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.