Poets logo

Somewhere to Belong

[In Tribute to my Fight to settle in the Scottish Highlands]

By Andrew LittlePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Somewhere To Belong

By: Karlton A. Armistad

[In Tribute to my Fight to settle in the Scottish Highlands]

1.

Running; constantly running for so-so long; that walking a calm path seemed crazy, impossible… almost unbelievable. A split moment; a breaking point saw me board a train and then another watching hills become mountains; seas to lochs and majestic streams of pure clear Scottish brooks. I fell in love I guess, and when I arrived in the quiet little village; I realised I had closed a chapter in my life, and entered a new journey to peace and simplicity, where would rise a bright blue moon.

2.

Loss; I carry a lot of loss, grief and mistakes with Me, things I wanted to do better, decisions I can’t take back, moments I like any human chose poorly. A beloved Mother that died without seeing her son one last time after 20 years, a brother taken also from Cancer swiftly and many-many more lives that had our connection cut, this constant pain in my gut with higher than foreseen prices, sacrifices made in order to say I survived.

3.

Struggles; I didn’t foresee so many; trust given and broken, added traumas and friendships and bonds formed, then challenged. I couldn’t see it, crying and crying, having to lock myself in my mind to save it. Loneliness, so deep, I had days where I couldn't recognise, analyse or compromise which direction was best. Torture; constant wrongs that couldn’t be cured singing survival songs in the mirror before dinner, as I begged my attackers to stop...just stop.

4.

Standing my Ground; because running is no longer an option. Bones are old, soul damaged too much and I have just enough fight left to secure My Peace. Nothing gives anyone the right to try and take that! My Mother raised me to show respect & give to everyone regardless of race or specifics, be good to others and expect the same in return and I did, but You chose to violate/ denigrate/ destroy and annihilate all my self-worth, do I have to remind You I am someone’s son for this to be halted? Done.

5.

Peace, I am in the storm before the calm, but I will find My Peace. I won’t allow you to take that from Me, because of your archaic warped reality.

I, deserve my right to life, liberty and freedom, come on you’re not dumb, of course I will fight you; you and your accomplices try to steal my Peace.

End.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Andrew Little

Carlton A. Armistad is the pseudonym for Andrew R. Little. I prefer writing under this as it allows me to look at any body of work I complete separate to my personal day-to-existence, and safeguards my relationships and family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.