Poets logo

Something Stupid

Because I got nothing else. You're welcome!

By Cathy holmesPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Photo by Michael Matlon on Unsplash

I wanted to write something stupid

To remind me of just who I am

Not really suggesting I’m stupid

But somedays I’ve the IQ of a yam

*

When my brain feels all pale and starchy

With tough skin that thoughts cannot pierce

I know that my mind has gone marshy

So I might as well think with my arse

*

So here is the shit that I’m writing

I just hope that it doesn’t all stink

If you read while my thoughts are igniting

You might need to pour a stiff drink

*

I started out self-deprecating,

Then insulted a fucking potato

Next my brain began defecating

While my mind got drunk on the patio

*

I think it’s near time that I end this.

Since my poem is a rickety rail car

It never made sense to begin with

And I fear that I’ve travelled too far

*

But if you’re still reading my drivel

There’s something I think you should know

I may have the IQ of a tuber

But you are as stubborn as a goat

(Final line can be taken as the animal or acronym - both apply equally.)

humor

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (21)

  • JBaz7 months ago

    I needed a laugh today and said to myself .. self I said, go read something from Cathy. And I came across this beauty. So thanks, now I can survive another hour long meeting

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    How did I miss this? 🤣🤣🤣 I’m absolutely here for the chaos and potato insults 🤣👏

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Fun read, my friend! So many lines in here 😅 "I started out self-deprecating, Then insulted a fucking potato"... honestly *hugs* but the way this came out made me giggle 😅🥹❤️❤️

  • Simply delightful. And I'd say you have me pegged.

  • sleepy drafts12 months ago

    😂💓 Oh my goodness, this was funny.

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    😅. Ahhhh, you know us all too well. Thanks for the laugh, Cathy.

  • I wanna be the animal goat! Weeeee! Also, if you have an IQ of a tuber, then I wonder what's mine 🤣🤣🤣 Loved your stupid poem! Lol! Also, Happy Birthday! 🎂💖

  • Colleen Millsteed 12 months ago

    Hahaha love this Cathy 😂

  • Sharon Bethea12 months ago

    Hilarious, but sometimes I have a IQ of a yam that’s my favorite food🤣 laughter does the body good!

  • Misty Rae12 months ago

    OMG, I laughed way too hard at this! "So I might as well think with my arse!" There's never been a line that screams Atlantic Canada like that!

  • Veronica Coldiron12 months ago

    😅🤣😂😅🤣😂🤣

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    That was a lot of fun! I'm glad you gave us the option on the last line. I'd never lay claim to the acronym, and the other option goes well with "old,", so...

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    We all have this moments but only you can turn into humor 🤣😉

  • This was af un wake up, I am going to shower and then to Scotland

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Wouldn’t it be something if Vocal held a Vocal Con!! And we could roast each other. 😂🥰

  • Okay from the last line- Lmao 🤣I'm insulted in a Hilarious way❗ You are Awesome 👍 😊📝❤️ -I laughed out loud so hard with that potato line 😁

  • Clyde E. Dawkins12 months ago

    LOL very nice and funny!

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    I needed a good laugh. This is so funny, you incredible yam. Also, I read it as arse-y first go.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh12 months ago

    Oh, Cathy, bless you. Just when I needed a laugh ....

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Fun & funnier!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

Cathy holmesWritten by Cathy holmes

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.