Poets logo

Someone Else

Or is it Me?

By Andrew Mark HolcombPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

A mask is my face,

worn so long hiding the horrors, the scars and the pain.

My mask is gentle and kind, my mask is confident, strong, and courageous.

My cape flows in the wind, my cunning and wisdom stands bold.

But that is someone else.

I’m selfless, I’m thoughtful. You saw me as good hearted. I made you laugh, I made you smile.

You were important for a little while.

Your eyes saw me with such grace. They beheld the mask upon my face. You looked on me with such

Joy, and saw the shimmer of my armor, sword drawn high and chivalrous above all. So noble was my steed, so sturdy did I sit.

But that was someone else.

I was steady, I was sure, I was zealous, I was valiant, I was daring yet I was meek. I was graceful, I was charming.

But that was someone else.

Behind my mask my face is marred, behind my mask my wounds are open.

I remove my mask to show the face, the selfish, the thoughtless, the angry and proud.

Behind my walls there is a fool, a jester, a coward and a fraud.

A failure, a feeble soul.

But is that someone else?

I made you inconsequential for a while.

Your eyes see me full of tears. You see the ugliness behind my mask. In sadness you see me, the rust of my armor, my sword fallen to the ground and discourteous above all. So ignoble is my steed, so uneasy do I sit.

Is this someone else?

I was faltering, I was dubious, I was fainting, I was fearful. I was haughty I was bumbling and I was off-putting.

I have no cape, I have no cunning and wisdom eludes me.

I was good, I was right, I was who you deserved.

But that was someone else.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Andrew Mark Holcomb

I've dealt with depression for a good portion of my life. I've tried a lot of things to help, but the one that seems to have the greatest long term impact is writing. I'm hoping some of my work can somehow help someone else too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.