Poets logo

Sod south, give north a try...

...a poem about finding your place, where you will find you

By Ray EckermannPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I was brought up pretty normal

by my Mum and by my Dad.

Opportunities were given,

like the other children had.

I learnt to ride a bike.

I learnt to climb a tree.

Important stuff for children

who were just like you and me.

I went along to school

like the other children did.

I think that's where it all began,

this process to be rid...

...of all the special things

that made me who I was.

"Why must I be the same as THEM?"

"because, Because, BECAUSE!"

And so the years went by

and I emulated THEM.

No tall poppies are allowed to grow here.

They were chopped off at the stem.

To be cut down infront of THEM

could quite possibly be the end,

so I towed the line, that stupid line

I was quite willing to defend.

And drifting in a sea of THEM

I managed to stay afloat.

One day I was busy 'DOING' stuff,

I looked up and spied a boat.

The boat was an organisation

rising above the myopic sea.

I thought to myself "Good grief old chap"

"Do you think there's room for ME?"

I waved my arms and flapped about

and in the process I stepped forth.

Where as all of THEM were heading south

this boat was going north.

The leaders of this northward boat

had seen me take that step

and thought as they threw the rescue line

"That one might have some pep."

Now the boat was very tall,

the rescue rope was very long

and I knew to get up on deck

I'd have to be very strong.

To my surprise as I struggled up

there were knots along that rope

and everytime I grabbed a knot

I felt like I could cope...

... a little better than before

because I felt like I was choosing,

to concentrate on winning

and stop focussing on not loosing!

I finally stepped up on deck

and couldn't believe what I was seeing.

Everyone had stopped what they were 'DOING'

and were busy simply BEING.

Imagine that. Authenticity.

Everyone was being true.

I suggest "Sod south, give north a try"

YOU MIGHT DISCOVER YOU!!!

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ray Eckermann

Ray is an illustrator and ex-expeditioner who has travelled to an awful lot of the world, seen some amazing things, met some inspiring people, been shot at by some of the less inspiring people, chased, climbed, explored and became a Dad.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.