Poets logo

For I am now grown...

...

By Ray EckermannPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I woke up in laughter

for I am a child.

Possibilities endless.

Imagination run wild.

The things I will learn

and all that I’ll know.

This is my story

and I’m the star of my show.

The world is what I’ll make it

and I’ll make it my own

and I’ll say what is what

as I look down from my thrown.

Because that’s how it is

when you’re only a boy .

This sphere we live on,

your ultimate toy.

This world is so big

and I am so small.

So I’ll do as I please.

Why not take it all?!

And thus I grew up.

A powerful man.

Multi-national conglomerate.

Yes… I had a plan.

My thrown as a boy,

now immeasurably high.

Executive chair and big desk

way up in the sky.

I look down from my vantage

in wild eyed wonder.

This world is a resource,

why wouldn’t I plunder?

It’s here for the taking.

It’s almost quite funny.

Drilling, digging and chopping

just for me to make money.

It’s not all about me.

I realize now I’m older.

A bigger picture exists…

The executive stakeholder…

And we worked on our plan

to be as rich as we can

with the drilling and chopping

and stripping of land.

Until one day I looked out

from my perch up on high.

On a withering land

under a poisonous sky.

Where once there were parks

where people could muse

stood rows of sick kids

eating chemical produce.

Grey, pale and drawn

with no sounds of laughter.

I looked at the future

and all I saw was disaster.

How had this happened?

And who was to blame?

I’d track down the culprit

and shout out their name.

I should know the answer.

I’m at the top of the pile.

So I formed a committee

to get the heart of this bile.

I sat them before me

and asked them who dared

ravage our world

but in silence they stared.

I demanded an answer.

To know what they knew.

An answer came back…

… a small voice said…”It was you”…

I woke up screaming,

for I am now grown

Possibilities ended

right here from my thrown.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ray Eckermann

Ray is an illustrator and ex-expeditioner who has travelled to an awful lot of the world, seen some amazing things, met some inspiring people, been shot at by some of the less inspiring people, chased, climbed, explored and became a Dad.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.