Poets logo

Social Butterfly

Anxious Collection

By Jessica ConwayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Suffocating

Warm walls fail to give comfort

Without restraint, they squeeze tighter

Constricting

Whispering

We are here for you

We love you

We want to help you

But they hurt so bad

I have to get out and away

Away from them all

Tearing

Screaming

Flailing

Falling…

…falling

I look up at what was my jail

A deep jade shell

Bleeding white poison

Tainting my mind with lies

False hopes

False dreams

False

My wings are broken

Of no more use to me

I try to stand on trembling legs

Futile

More voices come

The same voices

We will always be here

We will always protect you

Always

I sink down into the ground

A new shell

Made from dirt and poison

We love you

False, false!

It's all

FALSE!

One wing protrudes from the ground

Twitching

SCREAMING

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Conway

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.