Poets logo

Sobriety

"there is vast greatness deep in you"

By InstinctsPublished about a year ago 2 min read
1

Through the heated mud of hell

I have waded and did also dwell

I have drank most of my life away

Many fun times but not truly play

I was running from myself

And the darkness I have felt

I thought I could dissolve the pain

But all I did was stack it in disdain

As years went by and my dreams were out of reach

It occurred to me that I need to beseech

I need to strip my needs and aids

Go through my hell and feel the way

Feel the pain and let it be

Be real with every part of me

Cry the tears and face my fears

Fuck it's hard after all these years

But day by day, my dues I pay

Now I am quite happy to say

I am finding clarity I knew not that I would

And in my heart, it feels damn good

This isn't an attempt to preach

Or even a hope to teach

It's just me being raw and real now

Hoping my example with help someone somehow

We all have our own way to define this life

Whats wrong for me might for you be right

I love the fact that you wrote something today

It also inspired me to convey

My love I had and the love I've shed

For the liquid on which my avoidance was fed

Now I do still struggle through many a night

But I always have my strength to show the light

Whoever you are and whatever you're going through

Please know there is vast greatness deep in you

Drink the drinks that you please

But keep in mind the intoxicated sense of ease

May be stacking your troubles beneath

All the lessons you won't let yourself reach

In your hearts cores so as to open the door

And let your self love be restored

-Instincts-

"it's not about what you know. It's about what you feel. Listen to your Instincts!"

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Instincts

Writing since the age of 7. My soul longs to put pen to paper and cast my melodies into the air. I am here to remind you of yourself and all the greatness within you. I am here to remind you of your Instincts. Listen to your Instincts!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.