Poets logo

Full Moons Kiss

"forever damned"

By InstinctsPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
2

Sleep tonight? Well I wish.

Yet it's hard beneath the full moons kiss.

I toss and turn with fierce concern.

Tired and distraught but apprehensive to drift.

For I fear the curse of the full moons kiss.

I pray for rest that I so desperately need.

Please save me from this restless debris.

That my life has become in the wake of nightmares.

I pray again and swear I am prepared.

My prayer is answered and I drift away.

But what awaits, is not out to play.

I see an eerie alley that is less than warm.

It is the only path on which my journey is born.

As I walk slowly and unsure.

I suddenly find myself at a black door.

I open and enter, deafening silence screams at me.

I drift through eternal void darkness until I see.

Myself in a bloody bedroom, tucked tightly beneath the sheets.

Of a bed from which I can not lift my head.

The bed is cozy but I feel no comfort at all.

I feel I am fading, all grows dull.

Then a dark presence enters and looms over with intense terror.

I go from feeling nothing to being very scared.

As the shadowy figure approaches, I remain paralyzed and trapped.

It has come for me and the plan is exact.

It's here to torture me and keep the memory alive.

That while I try to live, I've already died inside.

My heart gave up a long time ago.

When the joy was rung out and replaced with woe.

Still, though this demon approaches me strong.

It feels that upon me, do his hands belong.

He climbs upon me, a giant's weight is felt.

Now the fear is really being dealt.

He smirks as he reaches his hands for my throat.

Then he squeezes so hard I fill with such doubt.

That I will ever be free.

This panic is making a stone man out of me.

I can't move at all, I simply wince and wine.

He smirks a little wider and knows I'm out of time.

He squeezes and squeezes and I accept that I will no longer be.

He seems so satisfied to take my life from me.

Flooded with sheer dread, I feel hopeless with despair.

My breath can't be attained and I am now raging to dare.

But my gasps are for not, as his grip allows no air through.

Then, as I die, I awake and my dream is true.

The darkness which found me, while I slept, is me.

But it is the part that does not want me to be free.

As each full moon comes and this nightmare recurs.

I wonder and pray why must I endure?

Am I forever trapped in my own way?

Or might clarity finally resolve my inner storm someday?

I tread lightly as I enter the slumbering state.

For I never know if again this demon awaits.

Full moons he enjoys, but sadly comes far more often.

Will peace find me, and place the demon in his coffin?

Will I ever know what it is like to dance with true bliss?

Or am I forever damned by the full moons kiss?

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Instincts

Writing since the age of 7. My soul longs to put pen to paper and cast my melodies into the air. I am here to remind you of yourself and all the greatness within you. I am here to remind you of your Instincts. Listen to your Instincts!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.