Poets logo

So, what do you know now?

an ode to recovery

By Sophia dos RemediosPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
So, what do you know now?
Photo by Yogendra Singh on Unsplash

I have retold my story like a skipping stone

over tea and untouched tissue boxes

and two glasses of Terre di Faiano.

I have spilled shame over terracotta tiles,

become too trusting under dusky tangerine skies

and treaded water while bearing the weight of leaden limbs.

I have spoken these words

into helplines from home,

tapping my crisis into the phone

and weakly admitting myself

to strangers. I have found myself

confessing, breaking open, telling volunteers

how I feel: hopeless, unsafe, uncertain,

alone.

I have revisited and re-lived and revived the worst night

in police stations, in doctors’ offices, in friends’ kitchens,

in emergency rooms.

I have confronted a world of

flashbacks and nightmares

while reclining in therapists’ armchairs

and, more recently, perched on the edge

of my own bed, facing myself in weekly video calls -

by far the most comfortable location

to fall apart.

I have screamed for justice

on London streets with thousands surviving

beside me, angered by the hands that hurt us.

I have confided my trauma to nurses

from between starched white

impersonal sheets and open-backed gowns,

whispering truth into wounds

from hospital beds and exam tables,

feet in stirrups, coldly clinical.

So, when my therapist asks what I know now,

I tell her: my recovery is not linear. It is skipping stones;

it is the flat water, a mirror, disturbed by rippling impact;

it is the peace returning once the stones have sunk into silt.

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Sophia dos Remedios

Doctor by day, writer by night, activist always

she/her, LG{B}T+

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.