Poets logo

Snowflakes and Forgiveness

A New Year to Forgive and Let Go

By Taylor AmyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
Snowflakes and Forgiveness
Photo by Ray Hennessy on Unsplash

This year, for me, is about letting go and being more present in the moment. The following is my spiritual request to "stop the rain", and instead: "let it snow". This year, I'd like to be suspended in "snow", light and carefree, with less worry and tension.

And so,

Please, stop the rain.

Turn these heavy, wet drops into snowflakes, blanketing the muddy and messy mistakes of life.

If it's going to be a cold day, at least lighten my step with a lovely snow. Frame the chill with beautiful evergreen trees, heavy with the snow that the branches lovingly hold.

Once the rain turns to snow, I become like a kid, giddy, and trusting the process, embracing the world once again.

I'm surrounded by falling snow like a figurine, suspended, in a snow globe. I'm no longer clenching fists and jaw and I relax a little, turning toward the gentleness of life. Everything takes on a new, fresh identity. Even the cold seems welcoming and joyful.

The stillness and softness of the snow unwinds my tensed up shoulders & body. I begin to forget the harsh cold and bitter rain. I'm suspended in softness that is serene and peaceful.

Please, stop the rain and make it snow. I'd like to fall into the snow packed ground, making angels, while grinning ear to ear, staring at the starry sky.

Let me be light, like a snowflake. I'll slowly ride a current of wind to the surface, where I'll gently land with all the others, blending and covering the forest floor. And in that space I'll commune with millions of magic raindrops that have blanketed everything in our path, turning frowns into smiles that erupt often, into laughter that playfully cuts into the cold, still night. Some will glide effortlessly along our surface with sleds and skis while others will watch from frosted window panes, mesmerized by our glorious ability to transform a dismal day of rain to a masterpiece of raw beauty.

Let it snow and let me be light.

Take this rainy night and transform it into something snowy and bright.

While it falls and covers the exposed and hurting earth, let it hug the hurt in its completeness, leaving nothing untouched by it's snowflakes that sparkle by moonlight, shimmering like diamonds.

I'm falling back into you, making angels, and catching snowflakes on my tongue. I'm forgetting that I'm no longer a child and instead twirling, eyes wide open, taking you in completely, laughing joyfully. No one is with me in this space of snow and self forgiveness.

You've reminded me once again with your dramatic entrance that everything can change in an instant and it can be magical and transforming. You'll soon be gone, but I've taken a recharge from you. It's another reminder to let go and be light. Twirl and laugh more often. Even if you are alone in the cold and still night.

In all the storms I've weathered, I embrace a snowstorm with excitement and adventure.

So, let it snow. Let it be a blizzard. Let it blanket the earth in forgiveness, melting away grief and sadness when it exits in warmth.

Welcome Winter and welcome New Year, I hope there is a snow storm brewing. I'm waiting in joyful anticipation. Let it snow.

Please, stop the rain.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Taylor Amy

I am a mental health advocate who writes about my experiences healing as well as issues surrounding mental health. I graduated from the University of Tennessee with a MS degree in Recreation and Sport Management in 2014.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.