Poets logo

Snackwallahnelle

A Villanelle Tribute to Snackwallah , an amazing Vegan Indian Streetfood Place in Newcastle Upon Tyne

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
19

Yesterday after a hospital scan I stopped off in Newcastle and for the first time since Covid hit ate at the wonderful Snackwallah in Newcastle.

I caught up with Raj and Rachel and Rachel mentioned the amazing villanelle by Sylvia Plath which you can read here, and inspired me to write this one.

%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

I can’t believe I have missed you so much

The banquet: Indian street food vegan

Today was Punjabi Rajma Curry (Lush)

+

I missed the service, and keeping in touch

Rachel, Raj and Jess with contact again

I can’t believe I have missed you so much

+

Kashmiri Brinjal , ingredients cush

Loveliest dishes , Bhel Puri and

Today was Punjabi Rajma Curry (Lush)

+

Keralan Kadala! Black chickpeas hush

Fennel Cardamom Chillies Spices then

I can’t believe I have missed you so much

+

Samosas , pakoras , hot Chai and whoosh

Delicious chaat dishes to enjoy again

Today was Punjabi Rajma Curry (Lush)

+

I missed the taste and variety, hush

Now I can enjoy Snackwallah each day

I can’t believe I have missed you so much

Today was Punjabi Rajma Curry (Lush)

%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

list
19

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    lovely piece.

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Wonderful!!

  • Testabout a year ago

    That was great! I love that type of food and inspired me to try out writing a Villanelle too :)

  • Sooji Fyrd2 years ago

    Aah, you're naming all my favourites!! My husband's from Kerala, chana masala and kerala kadala are staples at our house. Isn't it great to be able to meet with friends for streetfood again? I agree with you, its been too long.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.