Poets logo

Smooth play, Ox

What does that even mean?

By Barbara Steinhauser Published 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
1
Smooth play, Ox
Photo by Benjamin Guy on Unsplash

My brother often directed

These words

To me:

“Smooth play, ox.”

Did he mean ox long pips

Which may be smooth but

My backhand was not.

Black ox beetles were

Nocturnal while

I preferred sunshiny mornings.

We were two skinny kids.

Santana had yet to sing Smooth.

Smooth Play members weren’t

Twinkles in anyone’s eyes.

When he said these words,

I was never

Playing.

I had tripped

Or broken my arm

Falling as he pushed me on

Our money bar swing-set.

His mocking tone

Incensed me.

Finally, I’d had it.

Jutting my chin in the air

I stared down my nose at

The dunce.

“It just so happens

Oxen are not redheaded girls.

If I am a breed of cattle,

I am a proud Highland,

whose red coat

Is adorably fluffy!”

Well…

I wish I had said that

As I stared into his

Mischievous blue

Blue eyes.

social commentaryvintageinspirationalhumorchildrens poetry
1

About the Creator

Barbara Steinhauser

Thank you for taking time to read my stuff. I love writing almost as much as I love my people. I went back to college and earned an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults and often run on that storytelling track. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Now that's how standing up for one's self is to be done! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.