Poets logo

Popsicle Toes

Wheel smooth

By Barbara Steinhauser Published 6 months ago 1 min read
4
Thank you, Easydoesitemergencyservices.org

She pushed too hard, too fast, and splat

You lay shivering in drifted snow

A quad immobilized in the quad

Boots flailing

Right cheek red and raw

Bent wrist raised as in surrender.

But you would never give up.

You left Augsburg’s frozen chosen

(Michael Franks had already

Consumed your lemon frosted brownies)

Transferred to Berkeley where

July 27 became CeCe Weeks Day.

Still, I remember most the

Blizzard of expletives

You Mobilized.

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Barbara Steinhauser

Thank you for taking time to read my stuff. I love writing almost as much as I love my people. I went back to college and earned an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults and often run on that storytelling track. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor3 months ago

    'b' - One more Noodge - We wrote under the same Topic. 'Popsicle' with a slightly different Icy-Slant - But I probably didn't copy you - 'j'

  • Test6 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • I really liked how this had so many layers to it. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.