Poets logo

Embarrassment

An Epistolary

By Barbara Steinhauser Published about a year ago 1 min read
1
AI imagined at Photoleap

Dear Brother,

My so-called seditious

Non-Christian behavior

Was innocent—

I never swore!

Coarse words like butt

Mother could not ignore

I knew this yet somehow

Wound up out the door.

“How are classes,” she’d asked.

“Like the kids on your floor?”

“One’s a dildo,” I shrugged,

Recalling a bore.

“What’s that?” She choked.

“Don’t say a word more.”

I flashed the disdain only

Freshman girls wore.

“It’s just what we call

An idiot times four:

A duffus, a dolt, a nitwit…”

Did she mutter, “Whore!”

Confused at this turn

From sweetness to war

I snapped a Goodbye

Cataloguing my score.

When told the true meaning,

I blushed to my core.

I’m not sure I am welcome

At home, anymore.

social commentaryimmediate family
1

About the Creator

Barbara Steinhauser

Thank you for taking time to read my stuff. I love writing almost as much as I love my people. I went back to college and earned an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults and often run on that storytelling track. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    Great read Keep up the great work!"

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.