Poets logo

Smooth Operator

Lauren James

By Phil FlanneryPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
11
Chelsea official site

Like gliding on ice, she runs the field.

Using her body, the ball she must shield.

From the burst of the whistle, she bursts to life

Not fire in her eyes, but cool like ice

She plans and manoeuvres, she runs into space

With so little effort, she means to outpace

She looks for advantage around the ground

With a sly little nod to the one she has found

From her boot the sphere flies right to her target

Defenders hanging their heads in regret.

As the ball is deflected, right past the posts

The goalie’s the one who regrets it the most

With time on the clock, there’s no time to crow.

Time to reset and push on ‘cause she knows

One’s not enough they have to score more

Emma will want them to score at least four

The fans are expecting the best from the team

The big season final is always the dream

As the whistle goes off, to start them again

She sets her resolve, for the team and the win

A little back story:

I don't generally follow sport on purpose, but my wife is a life time Rugby Union fan, (I blame her father). Anyone who knows anything about Australian Rugby at the moment knows, it is at its lowest point in history. As it it struggles to compete domestically against three other forms of football and internationally is failing miserably.

About three years ago, my wife was working from home and discovered the Women's Super League football in England and started following our own Sam Kerr as she trailblazed for Chelsea under the management of Emma Hayes, "In Emma We Trust". My wife has her favourite players, (most of them), but for me, when I was looking for inspiration for the smooth challenge, it had to be Lauren James.

I still struggle to admit I like watching sport, but I can't help but be amazed and entertained by their skill and determination, but also their passion for their game and their teams. I refuse to watch the dramedy of men's football, this is football (soccer) at its best.

Obviously, our Matilda's result in the most recent World Cup has brought into focus how good their game is, and recent signings of Aussie girls overseas, has been the ultimate reward for their hard work.

As long as the idiots who run these big sporting enterprises don't stuff it up, I'll keep watching.

inspirationalcelebrities
11

About the Creator

Phil Flannery

Damn it, I'm 61 now, which means I'm into my fourth year on Vocal, I have an interesting collection of stories. I love the Challenges and enter, when I can, but this has become a lovely hobby.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Awesome smooth poem!!! The rhythm and flow are superb!!!

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    Excellent smooth poem ☺️👌

  • Amelia Moore5 months ago

    very moving, great work! it's well done and you capture the flow of sports really well.

  • Jay Kantor6 months ago

    Hi- P ~ Don't know much about Aussie Sports ~ But 'merican Baseball is often 'Tweaked' just to please the fans. btw; Just saw a TV episode filmed in Australia Re; Drag Racing. You 'Right Wheelers' knocked the Hubcaps off of the Americans. 'j' in L.A.

  • Caroline Jane6 months ago

    Unique concept. I don't really like ball games but I do like this poem. 👍

  • So descriptive and easy to picture.

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    You love sports, somebody please explain American baseball. Back home it is such a simple game. Great entry, so smooth.

  • What a great poem really enjoyed reading

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    A Great, slick poem Phil! 😊👏

  • Now that was absolutely smooth! Loved your poem! I chuckled at "I blame her father" 🤣🤣🤣

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    A very nice interpretation of the challenge, and well written too.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.