Poets logo

Smoky car

One day when I was 27 years old, I purchased my first car. It was a black Impala in 2005. I had only had my license for a month, so I was an inexperienced driver. Many people...

By spooky sessionPublished 12 days ago 2 min read
Like
Recommended to play this video(music) while reading

One day when I was 27 years old, I purchased my first car. It was a black Impala in 2005. I had only had my license for a month, so I was an inexperienced driver. Many people would come out of their houses when I parked, worried that I would hit their cars with my brand new vehicle.

One day, I was traveling with my three children. I have never been good with directions, and we did not have the technology back then that we have today. Somehow I found myself approaching the expressway. I was so nervous that I could barely drive on regular streets, let alone the expressway. But I had to be brave and do it.

I zoomed onto the highway as fast as I could with all the other fast-moving cars. There were cars behind me honking, and I had nowhere else to go. I could not turn around, so I just went for it! Before I knew it, I was driving on the highway among so many fast cars.

The kids were scared and making noise. I yelled at them loudly to be quiet, and they all shut up. As I drove, I tried to figure out how to get off the highway. I looked for the exit sign, but had to get over lanes first. I put on my turn signal to switch lanes.

Suddenly, my car filled up with cigarette smoke. I did not know about blind spots back then because I was still learning to drive. When I smelled the smoke, it caused me to hesitate in my lane for a few extra seconds. During that pause, a car zoomed by me so fast that if I had switched lanes, it would have been a terrible accident.

Eventually I found the exit and started to feel more comfortable driving after that experience. I realized if I could make it off the highway, I would continue to improve! From that day on, whenever I'm in danger in my car, it fills up with cigarette smoke.

Recently during a weekend trip by myself, my GPS took me far outside my destination. I never found the store because I got lost driving literally around mountain cliffs in the dark. My eyesight is very bad at night and I was alone, so I started hysterically crying for help. But then my car filled up with cigarette smoke and I somehow found my way back to the hotel even though my phone was dead.

Who is it that saves my life over and over? I have witnesses - my children have been amazed on different occasions when they smelled it too. I told them someone is here to help us make it home safely.

Just a week ago, it happened again with my daughter in the car. She said, "Mom, you have the most amazing things happen to you!" I think it's a family member, but I'm not sure who it is.🤔

Mental Healthinspirationalhumorhow toHolidayheartbreakBlackoutart
Like

About the Creator

spooky session

Daily spooky story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.