Poets logo

Sleeping Giant

a poem

By Danielle KelleyPublished about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
5
Sleeping Giant
Photo by Jon Butterworth on Unsplash

A social creature, I never was

Thanks to appetite and bloody jaws

Disturbing then, to find myself

Grotesquely touted upon a shelf

Seized from earth from whence I slept

For lesser creatures, a trophy kept

What being thinks, with their right mind:

"Let's dig up the oldest corpse we find!"

They gawk and squawk and point and stare

Their fascination, my nightmare

I remind myself, time will atone

Like me, transgressors turn to bone

social commentarynature poetry
5

About the Creator

Danielle Kelley

I'm making this all up as I go. I appreciate any feedback you lovely people can give me, and if you'd like to drop a few coins in my hat it would honestly mean the world to me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    Thought-provoking poem on the exploitation of animals for human pleasure. Your use of vivid imagery and powerful language creates a haunting and visceral experience.🧑🧑🧑

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.