Poets logo

Sleep Within The Realms Of Sanity.

The joys of sleep are really over valued at times but I would love to have an extra few hours sleep.

By Alixzandra WisemanPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sleep Within The Realms Of Sanity.
Photo by Yuris Alhumaydy on Unsplash

Sleepless nights are all too common , they are but a place of joy and pleasure to me . Yet I'm kept from slumber, for I'm unable to join that pleasure of joy of sleep, cursed to be confined to these long nights alone .

Nightlight of moons shining fully or waning which give way to sunlight of daylight with blue or grey skies , my eyes see only what they need to see for they are so heavy that tears can no longer fall .

My mind has no ability to tell what is real and what is illusion, for there are so many illusions within my vision that to see one, is to see all . So tell me what is sleep? How do you embrace that nectar of slumber?

For I have tried a great many ways , chemical filled pills from those men in white coats and titles of doctors , herbs from witches prepared as oils and teas , crystals and meditations , even the sound of your voice reading poetry .

All of it no longer brings comfort to me , none of these things lure me into slumber . So tell me, lover, does sleep truly show beauty? Or is my lack of sleep aging me beyond the realms of sanity.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.