Poets logo

Sleep

A Poem

By Rachel WhitePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1

Sleep and I are in a fight.

She won’t answer my calls.

Countless voicemails I’ve left,

crying out serotonin-

laughing out the liquid courage-

Oh won’t you just pick up the phone?

I wish I could apologize for all I’ve done,

But apologies seem to have lost their meaning as of late.

So I’ll dial her number.

Again.

Pick up.

Dial tones aren’t a lullaby,

And all the sheep have ran away.

The monster under my bed is crooning for me.

Laughing at me.

Laughing with me.

Slipping into delirium as I scramble for a way to end this fight.

Call again.

Call again you idiot.

Dial her number.

Ringing.

please pick up.

Please just...

Pick

Up.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Rachel White

20 year old college student & actor.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.