Poets logo

Sixteen

and stupid

By Nina PiercePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Sixteen
Photo by Maria Lupan on Unsplash

I was sixteen

making love to boys

because

they called me

Skinny

I loved the way

their hands

rubbed over the valleys

between my ribs

and grazed the

mountain peaks

my hipbones became.

I loved how wanted I felt,

how desired I felt,

how loved I thought I was

No one was going to love me

with those extra twenty pounds

and I starved and starved

until forty pounds were gone.

I was on top of the world

thin

perfect

lovely

beautiful

until the day

My hair fell out

in clumps when I would run my fingers through

my fingernails turning every shade of blue

I knew I was sick

but I didn't know how to

Stop

I didn’t want to

Stop being thin

but that meant I was sickly

I didn’t want to stop,

But I knew I had to stop

And those boys,

the ones who would call on me

called less

The boys

those boys

suddenly had other things to do

I found myself

cold, lonely

sad, wallowing in my thinness

alone.

I thought I was beautiful,

graceful, perfect

Shivering in 90 degree weather,

smoking cigarettes to keep me full.

And now

the boys,

those boys,

that boy...

doesn't love me

anymore.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Nina Pierce

just a lonely cat girl, pursuing a masters in counseling

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Melissa de la Cruz2 years ago

    Heartbreaking

Nina PierceWritten by Nina Pierce

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.