Poets logo

Sittin' Ms. Emma

A Caregiver's Journey

By Dan R FowlerPublished about a year ago 1 min read

Sittin' Ms. Emma

It’s been a while since I first met her,

A woman of purpose a life now a blur.

I was told she was a woman of success,

A person in her later years so blessed.

I wasn’t sure what to expect that day,

When I was called and the question asked.

For to be a caregiver isn’t a simple chore,

I’ve heard it touches the soul to its core.

Yet, notwithstanding my own expectations,

I went to me her the woman without hesitation.

Upon meeting her, I considered the task ahead,

Some have anticipated the challenge with dread.

“Well, hello,” she said without intimidation,

Having been a nurse, she offered information.

The task ahead wouldn’t be everlasting,

But only needed me to be accommodating.

Almost two years of sitting passed into eternity,

Friends we became as I recognized her humanity.

It was an experience for both of us you see,

She and I walking the last mile to her destiny.

I have thought of her over these many years,

The memories seasoned, with laughter, and tears.

And at this time of my life, I can express,

Sitting Ms. Emma was a lot more than a test.

I accompanied her on her last mile on Earth,

And placed with her husband, awaiting the rebirth.

Once the last flower was laid upon the grave,

I was honored to know her, a life so brave.

vintage

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.