Poets logo

Sisyphus

On a role

By Peter KentPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
5

Freedom of choice is the power to choose, every step employing my will.

Senses devoted, then I am that “I am". Other worlds negated, then I know that I know.

Infinitely, impeccably, once more to the top of my hill.

*

The want for carte blanche or that fancy to fly, they'll come and then go and still,

power lay in the solitary task belonging to one man, joined from above and below.

Freedom of choice is the power to choose, every step employing my will.

*

This is my rock, we are as one, every day round as the mill.

In relationship, close to the nature of things. And look, here comes the view, my plateau.

Infinitely, impeccably, once more to the top of my hill.

*

Get a life, get a dog, find your rock and your hill, marry a Jack (or a Jill).

When I suffer my choice then I know that I know that “I am THAT I am” come rain or come snow.

Freedom of choice is the power to choose, every step employing my will.

*

Whatever my fate I master the way, take up the weight and rock on as they say; that is, until

my sun come to rest and these stones all cry out, though my Death's ever close, that I shall not outgrow.

Infinitely, impeccably, once more to the top of my hill.

*

The day may come when I’ve no need to rest, nor the want to be still

But by stopping I began to wonder again, thus my holy reply has thenceforth been a ‘No.”

Freedom of choice is the power to choose, every step employing my will

Infinitely, impeccably, once more to the top of my hill.

Villanelle
5

About the Creator

Peter Kent

www.iampeterkent.com

I commit to create without need of reward; for when I merely experience there is within me a sense of joy without cause, a chorus of applause, bravo!, and encore!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    When I suffer my choice then I know that I know that “I am THAT I am” come rain or come snow. That line hit me so hard! Loved your Villanelle!

  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Your words paint a picture of personal empowerment. Fantastic poem!

  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    Well written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.