Poets logo

Sister Circle

Thank you

By Gerlinda ReneePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I wanted to say thank you.

I wanted to take the time out to recognize you for the triumphs that aren't rooted in pain.

I wanted to take the time to let you know that in all that you do, I see you. I see the way you plant yourself in your own life, unafraid of being moved by the wind.

When you walk through life, you don't wear your scars on your sleeve.

You don't feel slighted by the misfortunes that life has thrown your way, and I know there have been so many.

You see life as you give life in the ways that are rooted in nothing less than love.

You speak in a way that is soft and warm, gently soothing those in your presence.

You take the proper care in knowing that you stay grounded so that you can continue to help ground those around you.

I look at my chakras through your life in hopes of being just like you.

I play my song bowl in dedication to the life I have witnessed, praying to the universe for just a taste of all the things I admire in you.

Your strength overwhelms me in a way that I know just a fraction of what you're capable of would make me unstoppable in this life.

I see what you have sacrificed in this life.

I see what you have given up or turned your back on.

I see the scars from the ones you have loved and lost or lost to love.

I see the answers to life that you were forced to find in silence.

I see the burden life has placed on those around you and how that made you move differently because how can you trust a life that is cruel to the ones you love.

I see the eyes that hold so many stories that would take another lifetime to recant.

I see the way you see me.

My sister, my mother, my grandmother, my friend.

I see the history of me in your eyes.

I see the history of we in your eyes.

I see how far we've come in your eyes.

The notion that we are lesser than will never sit well with me because you are the reason I know we can do more.

You are the reason I know I am capable of more.

I walk through life with a certain feeling of hope and confidence because I've seen you walk these very streets with your head held high.

I've seen the protests for our equality in your eyes.

I see the scars you bore for the generation that is now emerging.

I thank you for the things I don't even know you've done for me.

I find a timepiece to be the most potent reminder of your influence in the ways you keep moving and keep whispering glimpses of hope.

Records were made in the style of the woman you came to be.

Movies could never get a character as fierce as you, right otherwise, there would be no more need for these kinds of stories.

While there is a pain in you, pain does not define you.

Pain is not the reason you move through life unbothered.

You move through life unbothered because you know the beauty pain has birthed in the very life around you.

Pain birthed you; pain birthed me and those just like me.

That pain solidified a relationship and a bond that can never be severed.

We are forever connected through our seeds' heart and for nurturing that seed, I just want to say,

thank you.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.