Poets logo

Sinking Ship

A Poem

By Nicholas SparkmanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sinking Ship
Photo by Torsten Dederichs on Unsplash

In this ocean, it’s a wonder,

That this ship is still afloat,

I never thought I’d be the captain,

But you wrapped me in the coat.

--------

Now I’m putting all the fires out,

Just to take on crashing waves,

Cursing all the while,

How it takes my time away.

---

Never had I thought to leave,

For a good captain goes down too,

And I’ve been keeping it above the tide,

Keeping the ship alive, without any help from you.

-------

Now I think it’s time though,

To leave you to the sea,

I realize now, this was never my job,

I realize now, that this was never me.

---

Oh yes, the time is now,

To leave this thing to waste,

Never to be seen again,

These sails, this mast, erased.

--------

After so much painful thought,

I beleive that it is right,

To jump overboard without you,

Swim away, and lose this fight.

---

Please know despite this selfish act,

I truly care for you,

It's just that my worth, my soul, my heart,

Make me not worth sinking too.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nicholas Sparkman

Enigmatic and wistful with a love for writing that only shows when inspiration strikes. Literature, poetry, cinema, and board game enthusiast. Author of "Fractures in a Glass Mind: A Collection of Poetry and Songs".

@spark_manic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.