Poets logo

Singer Featherweight, 2020

an ode to an heirloom

By Dane BHPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
4
Singer Featherweight, 2020
Photo by Jennifer Hartnett-Henderson on Unsplash

You carried it from your mother’s house

on the airplane, like a child

you swore to hold

on your lap,

lugging it through gate after gate.

*

The pile of masks grows

with every breath,

you, learning on each seam,

the tricks of your new housemate,

which hums as it did in ‘49,

stitch after stitch.

*

I look at them now,

this pile that was once

our napkins. a tablecloth.

a few shirts. a pillowcase.

*

When they talk of the sacrifices

our generation made,

find kinship, or comparison

with our grandmothers -

may we find solace in this,

the machine she used once

to make a dress

you might have shredded

for masks.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Dane BH

By day, I'm a cog in the nonprofit machine, and poet. By night, I'm a creature of the internet. My soul is a grumpy cat who'd rather be sleeping.

Top Story count: 17

www.danepoetry.com

Check out my Vocal Spotlight and my Vocal Podcast!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    A beautiful ode to one of the greatest brands of sewing machines ever made. My grandmother was a seamstress and loved her Singer machine. She sewed many items of clothing with it, including a tutu for me (which was used for a school dance when I was 4 or 5). Thank you for sharing your fantastic poem with us. And thank you for bringing back wonderful memories to me!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Superb ode to the Singer. My mom had a Singer too. The black machine with the gold letters italuzed to make our clothes. ❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.