Poets logo

Silver Fox

Enjoy the Transition

By Marilyn GloverPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
3
Silver Fox
Photo by Sridhar Chilimuri on Unsplash

I saw my very first ones in my late twenties after the birth of my third child

Ten years of dying to blend in; naturally blonde, not so bad on the maintenance

The forties hit; I tweak the game a bit, hair began growing like annoying weeds,

Wiry grays kept creeping in from nowhere, right in the front, of course

Invading my beautifully kept garden; every two weeks in need of a touch up

Disguise, disguise and disguise some more, nope, I was not going to let those pesky little buggers win

Last November I turned forty eight; yet another hurdle thrown into my race for youth, sigh….

The entire front of my head was white; the rest blonde with a golden hue, looked like a hot mess

Dying was not working the same anymore so the era of the bun began, aha, I was a genius

I would just put it up and be done with it; I was winning this battle, until…

I needed major surgery in February; the vision shifted abruptly

I looked in the mirror after my nasal gastric tube was removed, and didn’t even care about my

Opposing colored strands; I was alive, more so than ever

I realized at that moment that my ridiculous notion of forever halting a natural process

Was over, and I laughed wildly as I continued to look into the mirror

A thought popped into my head about how when men start to grey they

Are considered distinguished, charming and sexy; silver fox is the term

I decided that from that day forth, I too, was going to become a silver fox

Women age, we are human and beauty doesn’t have an expiration date

The key is to accept the fact that greying is a natural, inevitable process

I was making it much too complicated for myself by fighting; unnecessary anxiety over hair

What a joke; I kept laughing too; life took on new meaning for me

Life is too short to fuss over little things that are unimportant, with that being said,

It’s the little things in life that truly bring us the most joy; quite a freeing, refreshing moment

Also a lot of money to be saved in the future; goodbye hair dye!!!

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

7x Medium boosted poet, editor, and Reiki Master who is at her best when in nature. Creating to boost humanity while often not coloring within the lines. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.